You are not logged in.

#1 2017-09-29 00:06:20

rob

Help with bottom-up setup and few concepts clarification

Dear all,

I've been visiting the forum for a few months now and I finally registered to ask for some help and hopefully give back to the community.
I'm working on porting an existing custom bottom-up printer (projector below the VAT) to NanoDLP.
I would like to check if I got some basic concepts right.

My first step was change proprietary electronics to a RAMPS-compatible RUMBA board. I installed patched Marlin firmware.
Muve patched firmware is stuck at version 1.0. I saw there is also a patched version 1.0.2 by user WheresWaldo with less changes from original firmware.
1) What are necessary modifications to original Marlin to work with NanoDLP? I guess the main one is "Z_move_comp" message after G0/G1 Z axis move. Are there any other necessary or suggested?
2) Is there any chance to contribute this changes back to original Marlin as a configuration option? This way they might be inherited by newer versions (1.1.5 is out and many functions has been added/improved).

3) Was NanoDLP originally developed for top-down or bottom-up setup? I ask it to understand in which case modification have to be taken into account (Z axis and homing direction, etc).
4) What should be correct Z axis configuration for a bottom-up setup. Current config is Z+ direction downwards, Z- upwards, with a Z-min endstop placed at the top. It means moving Z in positive direction (i.e. G1 Z100) lowers the lift downward toward the VAT.
Not sure if this might generate confusion (seems counter-intuitive), so I would ask if is there any standard about Z axis definition. I know you can have same results flipping all settings, but I would like to follow the standard (if any).

Thanks in advance to all contributions. Hope I didn't mix too many questions in one post.

#2 2017-09-29 07:06:06

Shahin
Administrator

Re: Help with bottom-up setup and few concepts clarification