You are not logged in.

#1 2017-03-20 23:02:47

macdarren

New User Question about slicing...

Thanks to the Author of nanoDLP, it seems like a great tool once I figure it all out.

I am new to nanoDLP, in fact I am new to resin type printing but I have done a good amount of FDM style printing on my home built FDM printer.  I figured I would jump into Resin printing to learn something new.  I haven't gotten my printer totally going yet but I have been playing with using nanoDLP as the upper level control, interfaced to some lower level stepper control even though as I understand it could probably use nanoDLP for all of it.

Anyway my question is about slicing for resin prints...It seems like many people print 'solid' parts, others do open shells or some sort of infill or supported shell like the FDM guys.  All of my current models are STLs that are solid shapes and typically I use the slicing program to adjust the interior space as hollow or some percentage infill...I would like to do the same with the resin prints to save material costs...I realize drain holes will probably also be a part of this process....NanoDLP's built in slicer does not seem to have the idea of infill or at least I can't find it...It seems to want to make everything solid.  I hollowed out a model using MeshMixer...saved it as an SVG file and verified it was hollow in openscad by cutting a block out of it so I could see the inside, but when I had nanoDLP slice it the layers all look solid to me...

Is there a way to hollow or infill things using nanoDLP directly (I sure hope so as using yet another app in my workflow is a pain)?
was there a problem in my approach that caused nanoDLP fill my object?

Thanks
Darren

#2 2017-03-20 23:32:39

Shahin
Administrator

Re: New User Question about slicing...

NanoDLP currently does not hallow parts
But if you have manually hallowour prints it should not display them filled. Could you share STL file you are talking about?

#3 2017-03-21 00:54:41

macdarren