You are not logged in.

#1 2017-03-09 03:50:28

Kiroe

Top Down Printer - How do I match default CW behavior?

Hello,

I have been running a top down DLP printer with CW for a few months now and I am wanting to switch over to NanoDLP to free up my laptop. Originally I was running RAMPS 1.4/Sprinter Firmware, but switched over to the patched Marlin as recommended. But unfortunately I cannot get my printer to behave like it does in CW. I've been messing with NanoDLP for a few nights now and just can't get it working. I've tried modifying the MuVE profiles, tried backXslash's top down settings, but nothing seems to work. All I am really trying to do is recreate the default behavior of CW. Any guides for this?

For my top down printer I need it to: Start at the position I set manually > expose for X seconds > dip (lift) into the resin 4mm > return to next layer height > repeat.

Any help would be awesome.

Thanks!

#2 2017-03-09 05:40:24

bigfilsing

Re: Top Down Printer - How do I match default CW behavior?

I have never used a top down printer but i guess you set the start position manually according to the level of resin . So from that i guess you will need to "tell" the printer that that = Z home ( or zero)
CW just starts normally and relies on you having manually homed the printer ( or in your case manually set the start point
So if that logic is true then i guess in your start of print job G code, you need to set the Z to zero with the gcode command G92 Z0 
You might also need to make sure the printer is using relative coordinates

Hope this helps

#3 2017-03-11 05:04:04

Kiroe

Thanks for the information bigfilsing!

I seem to have gotten movement finally, but it is in the wrong direction. I have my shield set to Zero at Bottom and if I manually click the z-axis adjust up, it moves up, down and it moves down. However, during the lift phase it is acting like a bottom up printer (moves up out of the resin, then back down). Here is what I have in the settings: