You are not logged in.

#1 2021-09-09 10:33:20

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Hello Shahin,
I have added JS code to the shield pause to raise the bed by 100mm upon pausing the print. The change works as intended, but the pause command would now not wait for the current layer to finish and with raise the bed while the current is being cured. Any ideas what would be causing this?

thanks!!

[JS]
var pos = [[CurrentPosition]];
if ((pos+100) >190) pos = 190
else pos=pos+100;
output = "G1 Z"+pos+"F800";
output += "G4 P1";
output += "[[PositionSet "+pos+"]]";
[/JS]

Offline

#2 2021-09-09 16:39:31

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 3,518

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

The most probably after layer gcode causing issue.

Offline

#3 2021-09-10 11:09:44

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

after layer gcode has only Z lift command.

is this something that needs to fixed on backend code?

Offline

#4 2021-09-10 11:16:38

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 3,518

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

You need to add relevant code after movement to make sure it finished.

Offline

#5 2021-09-12 10:29:47

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

ShieldAfterLayer Gcode is as below:

G1 Z{[[LayerPosition]] + [[ZLiftDistance]]} F200
[[WaitForDoneMessage]]
[[PositionChange [[ZLiftDistance]]]]


Not too sure what else needs to be added to ensure wait for current layer curing is finished before pause code

Offline

#6 2021-09-15 09:21:07

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Shahin,
Could you please provide your thoughts?? thanks!

Offline

#7 2021-09-16 09:05:31

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 3,518

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

It depends on firmware you are using. Code seems correct check shutter gcode boxes and other available gcodes. Something cause [[WaitForDoneMessage]] pass sooner than expected.

Offline

#8 2021-09-17 14:03:04

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Hello Shahin,
Checked all the gcode boxes and none seem to be missing [[WaitForDoneMessages]]. I had then verified the firmware and version (4440) in use . Performed an upgrade to the latest beta version (4987) and retried the pause functionality and nothing seems to have changed.

Also, wanted to add that I have all the other functionality - cancel, resume print, unpause working fine. In fact, I have bed lift gcode to max Z-height after Print Finish & Print Cancel and they seem to be working just fine.

Any other pointers that you may suggest?? Not sure if this was only in my case and anybody else was facing this. Thanks!

Last edited by Rahul (2021-09-17 14:11:56)

Offline

#9 2021-09-17 17:31:17

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 3,518

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Share gcode for shutter, it is running in parallel better to not use it for such synchronization tasks.

Offline

#10 2021-09-18 04:37:54

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Here is the shutter gcode, used to turn on/off the UV lamp

"ShutterOpenGcode": "M106 P0",
"ShutterCloseGcode": "M107 P0"

Offline

#11 2021-09-19 19:50:00

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 3,518

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Move them to gcode before and after see if it does help or not

Offline

#12 2021-09-20 05:31:47

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Tried it, no change. Pause continues to override current step.

Offline

#13 2021-09-22 15:19:55

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Shahin,
Can you please suggest any other steps I can try to resolve this issue? Thanks!

Offline

#14 2021-09-27 08:05:56

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 3,518

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Share a full debug file.

Offline

#15 2021-09-29 03:10:28

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Hi Shahin,
I have shared the files on https://drive.google.com/file/d/19j3Ze9 … sp=sharing

thanks!

Offline

#16 2021-10-04 07:47:22

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 3,518

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

The configuration is correct, it happens as gcode send in parallel.
Let me check for the kind of configuration how it could handled with correct synchronization.

Offline

#17 2021-10-04 13:33:14

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Thanks for the revert! will await your further update.

Offline

#18 2021-10-05 21:40:25

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 3,518

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Try the latest beta.

Offline

#19 2021-10-08 12:59:48

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Thanks for the revert Shahin!

Installed the latest beta 5008 and tried the same functionality, but still having the same issue. On clicking pause, it just overrides the current layer being exposed.

Offline

#20 2021-10-08 15:11:47

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 3,518

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

If you press pause it should wait pause just after exposure.
You have not observed no change at all?

Offline

#21 2021-10-10 08:51:53

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

there is no change in the behavior. As soon as the pause is hit, the Z-axis raises instead of waiting for the exposure & peel actions to compelte.

Offline

#22 2021-10-20 07:09:24

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Hello Shahin,
Any suggestion for me?? thanks!

Offline

#23 2021-12-07 07:05:52

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Hello Shahin,
I have retried my custom pause feature to have the print bed raised, upon pause with the latest beta version. However, it still doesn't seem to be working, the print bed starts to rasie before completing the current layer curing.

Any further suggestions you may have to have this feature working??

Offline

#24 2021-12-10 06:31:33

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 3,518

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Ping me over skype sh.h.n
Lets troubleshoot together.

Offline

#25 2022-01-02 09:38:33

Rahul
Member
Registered: 2019-11-27
Posts: 35

Re: Shield Pause skips current layer curing

Shahin,
Any update on this issue? Were you to look into it??

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB