You are not logged in.

#1 2021-02-03 13:21:13

stevesherrin

Stepper motor driver fault detected

I have a 3D printer I built using Rasberry Pi 3B+ and a nanodlp 1.1 shield.  I am having an issue... when I boot up the z stepper motor starts making a whining sound as if it was spinning but there is no motion.  When I go into Z Axis control and press up 10mm it does spin, but in large pulses.  the reading at the bottoms shows "Stepper motor driver fault detected" although it does eventually show movement completed.  Even then the motor continues making noises.  I have 2 questions- is there an obvious solution for this?  How do I go about figuring out what the error is>  (Complete noob question but I've gotten hung up here).

Thanks for any advise/help you can offer.

#2 2021-02-04 01:28:32

bigfilsing

Re: Stepper motor driver fault detected

Hi
There are a couple of possibilities.
Most likely is that the wiring to the stepper is incorrect.  Try and find the specification sheet for your stepper motor so you can identify the 2 individual coils of the motor itself then check the wiring from your stepper driver.  By using a multimeter you can check which are the connections for each coil in the motor.

The other option is that you need to set up the correct current to drive your stepper motor . This is usually achieved by turning the small cross head screw on the stepper driver itself. Typically there are 2 test points on the driver where you can measure a voltage which represents the current applied to the motor. You will have to find the specs for your driver and set it correctly for the motor you have. In many cases the reference voltage can be measured between GND and the screwhead itself.   
Here is how to set the voltage ( current) on a typical DRV8825  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89BHS9h … lectronics