You are not logged in.

#1 2019-04-19 17:17:32

macdarren
Member
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 302

Build plate trim...

So this is a feature that I have seen on FDM slicers and would come in handy with nanoDLP.

Some models have flat surfaces...(I tend to print these directly on the bed so waiting for the erode burnin layers but this is a different feature)
...some of these so call flat surfaces are not totally flat...maybe the were drawn by hand
or maybe they are on supports but the support program failed to make the bottom of the supports totally flat.
Whatever the cause the result is things do not adhere well in the first few layers.

The new overhang coloring in Nano makes this even more clear.

I have a model that is on supports and it looks like the supports are all flat on the bottom and in the same plane
but if you zoom in they are not perfect....so my first few slices have almost no contact area.

what I would like is when adding a model, and not using the support option, to be able to drop the print
by some small amount..basically sheer off the botton to make it flat....this could be done by skipping the first couple
layers or merging them or something.  This would of course be an option and only used in specific cases were some
small surface feature or bump is not to be printed.

Offline

#2 2019-04-19 17:55:38

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Build plate trim...

It is needed on the add plate page right?

Offline

#3 2019-04-19 17:56:43

macdarren
Member
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 302

Re: Build plate trim...

yes...kinda similar to the rotate option

Last edited by macdarren (2019-04-19 17:57:22)

Offline

#4 2019-04-19 18:17:34

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Build plate trim...

It is getting too complicated. Probably will hide these options under advanced section

Offline

#5 2019-04-19 18:38:07

macdarren
Member
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 302

Re: Build plate trim...

That works for me....key is I don't think it can be part of a "resin profile" where alot of the advanced stuff is, it needs to operate at the model level....sure I guess you could have multiple profiles but then you need too many and it gets confusing naming and selecting them...sometimes you trim .04mm sometimes .1mm another time maybe .5mm but the actual resin related parameters are all the same.

maybe we need a basic and advanced switch in the 'add plate' screen...then move in this feature and maybe some of the others like center and stop layers masking etc.

Last edited by macdarren (2019-04-19 18:39:48)

Offline

#6 2019-04-25 04:53:59

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Build plate trim...

Added to the latest beta

Offline

#7 2019-04-25 21:54:32

macdarren
Member
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 302

Re: Build plate trim...

Thanks for the feature add!!!!

Sadly....I tried a beta update to try out the newest features, but something seems to have died...after the update my Pi dropped off the network and refuses to boot back up and connect.
My usual remote powercycle is also not getting it to reconnect so I am not sure what happened. .....I will see if I can take a look at it tonight, in person.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB