You are not logged in.

#1 2019-02-09 13:57:32

Bx3mE
Member
Registered: 2018-01-09
Posts: 19

Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

When i add a plate the printer becomes unresponsive and i have to restart it. I have remote slicing enabled. Currently I am running 1991

Offline

#2 2019-02-10 20:33:15

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Share STL file you are trying to slice.

Offline

#3 2019-02-12 12:39:41

MaxJewels
Member
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 67

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

i've identical problem with 1932

Last edited by MaxJewels (2019-02-12 12:48:55)

Offline

#4 2019-02-12 19:14:03

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Max,

Could you share a STL file causing this?

Offline

#5 2019-02-13 21:26:27

Bx3mE
Member
Registered: 2018-01-09
Posts: 19

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2637753/files for me. I know it is big but 16h later the machine was still unresponsive. Three attempts with different supports. The remote slicein completes and then its unresponsive.

Offline

#6 2019-02-13 21:42:26

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

could you let me know whats the last messages you see on remote slicer and rpi nanodlp

Offline

#7 2019-02-13 21:44:35

MaxJewels
Member
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 67

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Shahin wrote:

Max,

Could you share a STL file causing this?

it is not a specific file, but when the workload increases, the software tends to freeze and no longer gives access to the network
I’ve an RPI 3 B+

Offline

#8 2019-02-14 13:11:25

elshad66
Member
Registered: 2017-03-31
Posts: 114

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

I have the same problem 1932
Trying to upgrade to 1991
but after click add as plate
nothing happens waited a long time
starts working after restart pi
stl files everything is OK
came back to 1932

Offline

#9 2019-02-14 14:20:34

mystamo
Member
Registered: 2019-01-23
Posts: 22

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

I personally had the same exact problem when trying to slice more complicated STL files.

For me. Turns out it was a power supply issue. I wasn't providing enough current to the Pi and it was freezing. Then resetting.

A new supply fixed the problem. If you have a stronger 5v supply. Try it.

Mo

Offline

#10 2019-02-14 20:37:52

Bx3mE
Member
Registered: 2018-01-09
Posts: 19

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

2019/02/10 00:21:20.666735 {"Layer":"0","module":"STL","level":"Notice","msg":"Extracting Layer 2406 - Z Level 70.86374"}
2019/02/10 00:21:23.772991 {"Layer":"0","module":"Remote-Slicer","level":"Warning","msg":"Processing completed, sending response back"}
2019/02/10 00:21:23.937428 {"Layer":"0","module":"Remote-Slicer","level":"Warning","msg":"Remote slicer terminated"}

After this the Processor of the RPI goes up to 60% and memmory goes to 93% or something like that. The first two tries to get a response are very slow (like going to another menu (tools) but eventually render some result. After that it becomes unresponsive and i get a timeout trying to communicate with the PI.

Offline

#11 2019-02-15 08:25:58

elshad66
Member
Registered: 2017-03-31
Posts: 114

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Bx3mE wrote:

After this the Processor of the RPI goes up to 60% and memmory goes to 93% or something like that. The first two tries to get a response are very slow (like going to another menu (tools) but eventually render some result. After that it becomes unresponsive and i get a timeout trying to communicate with the PI.

Yes
I have exactly the same
and if restart pi
then the plate is ready and you can click print

Last edited by elshad66 (2019-02-15 08:30:31)

Offline

#12 2019-02-15 13:48:06

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Can I reproduce the issue using STL above?

Offline

#13 2019-02-15 14:03:25

Bx3mE
Member
Registered: 2018-01-09
Posts: 19

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Only you can answer that... smile You are welcome to try - I believe it is not tied to my setup.

Offline

#14 2019-02-18 16:00:22

MaxJewels
Member
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 67

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

mystamo wrote:

I personally had the same exact problem when trying to slice more complicated STL files.

For me. Turns out it was a power supply issue. I wasn't providing enough current to the Pi and it was freezing. Then resetting.

A new supply fixed the problem. If you have a stronger 5v supply. Try it.

Mo

I've a 5V 3A only for RPI3 B+

Offline

#15 2019-02-18 21:46:19

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Try latest beta see if the issue has been solved or not. The issue caused by new 3d preview generator.

Offline

#16 2019-02-19 06:54:48

macdarren
Member
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 302

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

not sure if it is related but I have hang ups too when slicing.(ver 2001)..remote slice works better....Also hex infill seems to be broken (weird layers)....was working aside from wall size bug...

Offline

#17 2019-02-19 14:34:58

RodrigoDeNadai
Member
From: Brasil
Registered: 2018-12-04
Posts: 21

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

I had the same problem using also build 1982 and also build 2001.
When upload a big plate 80 mb, the upload finishes an then the printer stop responding. When I restart the RPi3B the plate is there and ready to be sliced. When uploading I notices that CPUsage is 108% and the temperature is arround 79 degrees celsius.

I returned to build 1932 and everything was ok.

I also noticed that in the newer builds, the custom buttons doenst respect the printer status. Buttons to work when the printer is idlle doesn't appear when the printer is in this mode.

Thank you Shahin

Offline

#18 2019-02-21 05:56:44

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Please, test latest beta build see if it still broken or not.

Offline

#19 2019-02-22 20:03:13

macdarren
Member
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 302

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

beta rev 2039 seems to be working...at least no hang so far and it was pretty consistent before....however I am using remote slicing....going to do some tests with local slicing only and see what happens.

Thanks for the update!

Offline

#20 2019-02-23 04:48:46

macdarren
Member
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 302

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

just did a beta update....but it is showing version 2040....seems like that is a step back or maybe 2100 was not right and it was supposed to be 2010.
things are back to crashing during a slice...even a remote slice when I have hollowing turned on....without hollowing seems better.

Offline

#21 2019-02-23 06:37:10

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Is it only crashes on pi? 2010 is right.

Offline

#22 2019-02-23 07:28:39

Shahin
Administrator
Registered: 2016-02-17
Posts: 2,760

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Darren,

I cannot reproduce the issue. Could you share the STL and debug files?

Offline

#23 2019-02-23 19:10:03

macdarren
Member
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 302

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

I have emailed some drop box links to the files...the STL and the debug file for when the remote slice failed.
I am rebooting now after a crash from a local slice and will send debug file from crash.

Offline

#24 2019-02-28 23:48:13

Bx3mE
Member
Registered: 2018-01-09
Posts: 19

Re: Adding a plate hangs the printer (unresponsive)

Shahin wrote:

Please, test latest beta build see if it still broken or not.

For me it is now fixed with the latest build and preview is working with remote slicer! Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB