You are not logged in.

#1 2018-03-11 13:05:27

ultimasnake

Minor suggestions from a new (sla printing) User!

Hi all!

I'm new to NanoDLP or better yet to SLA printing all together. Coming from FDM printing for about 2 years i'm convinced I have to forget everything I knew about 3d printing... Anyway, i've done a few prints now (minor once) but think I have some minor interface/interaction suggestions right off the bat ;-). They might be minimal and I might tackle some points through github if I find the chance (since I'm a developer/user interaction designer). Forget me if I'm to straight forward maybe some of my suggestions are totally not in line with the way you all want to approach the software

General
- Maybe it's nice during print to show an small status bar during print on other screens clearly showing the printer is actually running (the idea of the interface is of course see the status whilst not near the printer)
- I might have missed it but is there a button in the interface to turn off the second Fan?

Plates
- There are many icons shown on screen making it very cluttered, maybe some of these could just be icons (edit, download, layers aka view)
- I think it would make more sence to disable some buttons whilst a print is running
- Resume printing seems odd when the print is not the last running print (right?)
- 'Slicing:' I noticed that a print I made had the orientation incorrect for the bed meaning half my print was not rendered on the bed. I'm guessing auto rotation when a print would not fit would not be that hard (right?) when width/height are different from (overlapping) the bedsize?
- Layers view: Would benefit greatly from changing image while sliding (instead of on change) and/or using arrow keys to more quickly go back/forward while checking the layers (the latter being the easiest I guess)
- Layers view: Remember if Toggle details was turned on (have to turn them on each time I view a new plate)